Switzerland Set 1, The Drive

The US is a car culture, but I think driving Mecca has to be on the roads of Switzerland and Germany.  The roads are maintained extremely well even on rural 2 lane roads.  I had the opportunity to drive a car I had bought and combine it with a two week vacation exactly two years ago this month.  It was one of the best experiences in my life.  On my way to Interlaken, in a matter of half an hour, I drove next a lake, into the lush green hills within a valley, onto the road hanging from cliffs besides the Alps, passing a large glacier, going over the mountains and into the forest on the other side.  It was a zen experience, and am looking forward to doing it again.

Sensor: Canon Powershot
Location: Gotthardstrasse, Switzerland

Europe-2011-5697

Every so often I would force myself to get out of the car and just absorb the view.  Usually the worst part about vacations is the driving.  In this case, the driving was the vacation.  They don’t make road likes this where I live.

Leave a comment